Local Athens Bands – What I’m Listening To

0

By: Claire Barron

Maybe it’s the fact that I’m about to graduate and move away from this college town or maybe it’s just because they’re so good, but lately I’ve been listening to a lot of Athens Bands. I’ve spent a good bit of time between the Georgia Theatre, 40 Watt, New Earth and Green Room this semester, and most of what I’ve seen has been bands that have made Athens their home base. Two of my favorites have been New Madrid and Dana Swimmer.

New Madrid’s¬†music just makes you feel good. I’m not kidding when I say that I’ve had their newest CD, Yardboat, playing in my care since November- and I’m still not sick of it. I’ve seen this band at least 5 times over the past 2 months around Athens, and they’re so good every time. They combine smooth and effortless vocals with very textured and flowing instrumentals to create a genre all their own. Check them out here. Now.

Dana Swimmer similarly creates their very own tone and feel with their music. It is also very much feel good music, and it just makes you want to dance honestly. The cool vocals paired with true rock instrumentals make the perfect match. Give them a listen here.

One thought on “Local Athens Bands – What I’m Listening To

  1. 1.) New Madrid is awesome. The end. Case Closed.
    2.)My boyfriend plays bass in Dana Swimmer, so I’m required to think they’re awesome… but I absolutely would anyway, haha.

    LOVE the vibes coming from both of these bands. Great job on the blog!

Leave a Reply

